Senior teams sponsors

Stadium sponsors

Youth section sponsors


Monday 7th January 2008
Isthmian Veterans Cup Quarter-final

Northwood’s Golden Oldies were unable to repeat their success of the previous round as they were soundly beaten in a bad-tempered affair at Imber Court, and they went out of the Isthmian Veterans Cup at the quarter-final stage.

Both sides were reduced to ten men after Wood’s Paul Watkins and the Police’s Eric Tomlinson were shown red cards for brawling early in the second-half.

Northwood began well with Darren Wood shooting over and Steve Hale having his shot turned around the upright by ‘keeper Graham Bannatyne. But it was the hosts who opened the scoring on 12 minutes, Steve Bogidi shooting into an empty net after he beat ‘keeper Paul Riordan to a speculative ball into the box.

Met Police continued to threaten and they extended their lead in the 22nd minute as Tomlinson latched onto Paul Barrowcliff’s free-kick to send a flicked header into the top corner of the net despite Riordan getting a hand on it.

Woods were restricted to long range efforts from Dave Nolan and Hale as they looked for a way back whilst Bogidi and Geoff Foreman went close for the Police. And Northwood were grateful to Riordan as he produced a flying save to deny Tomlinson.

Woods needed an explosive start to the second-half if they were to get back in the match. But it was fireworks of another sort as Watkins and Tomlinson were sent for an early bath.

Despite having plenty of possession Northwood were failing to seriously threaten the Met’s goal, a couple of speculative shots from Hale the closest they came. And having comfortably protected their lead, the hosts put the seal on their win as they added a third goal, Lee Cormack expertly chipping the ball over Riordan in the final minute.          

Northwood: Paul Riordan, Dave Nolan, Paul Curran, Paul Watkins, Gary Williams, Tim Vincent, Gary Collinson, Fergus Moore, Steve Hale, Darren Wood, Garfield Blackman, Tim Delaney, Richard Elderfield, Dave Fox.

Met Police: Graham Bannatyne, Carl Naylor, Graham Taylor, Paul Carruth, Nigel Tulson, Paul Barrowcliff, Geoff Foreman, Mark Scott, Steve Bogidi, Eric Tomlinson, Mark Adams, Dave Newham, Joe Taylor, Lee Cormack, Chris Holding.